Show Menu

Kohlberg's Moral Development Theory Cheat Sheet by


Stage 1: Punishment and Obedience
Stage 2: Instru­mental Exchan­ge-­Egosit
Right and wrong are determined by what they get punished for. They must do whatever it takes not to get punished
Right and wrong are determined by what they get rewarded for, by doing what others want. Any concern for others is out of selfis­hness. The right option is the one that satisfies their needs.
"What must I do to avoid punish­men­t?"
"­Whats in it for me?"


Stage 3: Interp­ersonal Conformity
Stage 4: Law and Order- The Good Citizen
Right is conformity to the stereo­typical behavi­oral, values expect­ations of one's society or peers. Right and wrong are determined by the majority
Being good means doing your duty to society, To this end we obey laws without question and show respect for authority.
"What must I do to be seen as a good girl/boy (socially accept­able)?
"I collab­orate to maintain law and order."­

Post Conven­tional

Stage 5: Social Contract
Stage 6: Universal Ethical Principle
Right and wrong are determined by personal values, although these can be over-r­idden by democr­ati­cally agreed laws. When laws infringe our own sense of justice we choose to ignore them
One lives in accordance with deeply help moral principles which are seen as more important than the laws of the land
"I disobey wrong rules and act consis­tently with my own princi­ple­s"
"I have an obligation to disobey unjust laws and commit myself to follow the ones that are grounded in justice and wellbe­ing."



Nice work.

I think I spotted a typo in "Post Conventional - Stage 6":

"[...] with deeply help moral[...]"

should be

"[...]with deeply held moral[...]"


Add a Comment

Your Comment

Please enter your name.

    Please enter your email address

      Please enter your Comment.