

The Eastern Orthodox Churches Cheat Sheet

by [deleted] via cheatography.com/2754/cs/14824/

The Eastern Orthodox Churches

The nominal head of the Eastern Orthodox Churches is the Patriarch of Constantinople. However, he is only first among equals and has no real authority over Churches other than his own.

There are 15 'autocephalous Churches', listed in order of precedence.

Churches 1-9 are led by Patriarchs, while the others are led by Archbishops or Metropolitans:

Autocephalous Churches

Church of Constantinople (ancient)

Church of Alexandria (ancient)

Church of Antioch (ancient)

Church of Jerusalem (ancient)

Church of Russia (established in 1589)

Church of Serbia (1219)

Church of Romania (1925)

Church of Bulgaria (927)

Church of Georgia (466)

Church of Cyprus (434)

Church of Greece (1850)

Church of Poland (1924)

Church of Albania (1937)

Church of Czech and Slovak lands (1951)

The Orthodox Church in America (1970)

Autonomous Churches

Church of Sinai

Church of Finland

Church of Estonia*

Church of Japan*

Church of China*

Church of Ukraine*

Archdiocese of Ohrid*

* indicates a Church whose autonomy is recognised by only some of the other Churches

World of Eastern Orthodox





By [deleted] cheatography.com/deleted-2754/ Published 23rd December, 2018. Last updated 23rd December, 2018. Page 1 of 1. Sponsored by **Readable.com**Measure your website readability!

https://readable.com