Show Menu

The Eastern Orthodox Churches Cheat Sheet (DRAFT) by [deleted]

The Eastern Orthodox Churches

This is a draft cheat sheet. It is a work in progress and is not finished yet.

The Eastern Orthodox Churches

The nominal head of the Eastern Orthodox Churches is the Patriarch of Consta­nti­nople. However, he is only first among equals and has no real authority over Churches other than his own.

There are 15 'autoc­eph­alous Churches', listed in order of preced­ence.

Churches 1-9 are led by Patria­rchs, while the others are led by Archbi­shops or Metrop­oli­tans:

Autoce­phalous Churches

Church of Consta­nti­nople (ancient)
Church of Alexandria (ancient)
Church of Antioch (ancient)
Church of Jerusalem (ancient)
Church of Russia (estab­lished in 1589)
Church of Serbia (1219)
Church of Romania (1925)
Church of Bulgaria (927)
Church of Georgia (466)
Church of Cyprus (434)
Church of Greece (1850)
Church of Poland (1924)
Church of Albania (1937)
Church of Czech and Slovak lands (1951)
The Orthodox Church in America (1970)

Autonomous Churches

Church of Sinai
Church of Finland
Church of Estonia*
Church of Japan*
Church of China*
Church of Ukraine*
Archdi­ocese of Ohrid*
* indicates a Church whose autonomy is recognised by only some of the other Churches

World of Eastern Orthodox