Show Menu

Seven Virtues & Seven Sins Cheat Sheet (DRAFT) by [deleted]

Virtues and Sins

This is a draft cheat sheet. It is a work in progress and is not finished yet.

The Seven Virtues

Pope Gregory defined the "­Seven Deadly Sins to avoided, and included these counte­r-b­ala­ncing set of values that one should espouse and adopt:
Faith is belief in the right things (including the virtues).
Hope is taking a positive future view, that good will prevail.
Charity is concern for, and active helping of, others.
Fortitude is never giving up.
Justice is being fair and equitable with others.
Prudence is care of and moderation with money.
Temperance is moderation of needed things and abstinence from things which are not needed.
The first 3 are known as "the Spiritual Virtue­s", whilst the last 4 are called the "­Chief or Natural Virtue­s". The Natural Virtues had been defined by Greek philos­ophers, whilst the Spiritual Virtues are a slight variation on St. Paul's trio of Love, Hope and Faith (due to variation in transl­ation from the original: Charity and Love* arguably have a high level of overlap).

The Theolo­gical Virtues

Love, Hope and Faith as defined by St. Paul (who placed Love as the greatest of them all).

The Four Cardinal Virtues

Prudence, Temper­ance, Courage and Justice.

The Seven Corporal Works of Mercy

are a medieval list of things you can do to help others: feed the hungry, give drink to the thirsty, give shelter to strangers, clothe the naked, visit the sick, minister to prisoners, and bury the dead.


The Seven Deadly Sins

Sins have always been popular areas of focus in the church. An early 2nd century document, the Didache, contains a list of five. Origen produced a sevenfold list and at the end of the 4th century Cassian amended this sevenfold list. Eventu­ally, the Seven Deadly Sins (or Vices) we know today were defined in the 6th century by Pope Gregory the Great, as a set of negative values, to adopt and avoid,
Pride is an excessive belief in one's own abilities.
Envy is wanting what others have, be it status, abilities or posses­sions.
Gluttony is the desire to eat or consume more than you require.
Lust is a powerful craving for such as sex, power and money.
Anger is the loss of rational self-c­ontrol and the desire to harm others.
Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain.
Sloth is laziness and the avoidance of work.
Note: How many are similar: envy, gluttony, lust and greed are all about desire. There is a hidden lack of concern for others in at least envy and anger.