Show Menu
Cheatography

Orthodox Kosher Symbols helps Muslims Cheat Sheet (DRAFT) by [deleted]

Orthodox Kosher Symbols helps Muslims

This is a draft cheat sheet. It is a work in progress and is not finished yet.

Introd­uction

The use of orthodox genuine Kosher certified food products as Halal is for temporary period only until the Halal symbol carrying food products are available in superm­arkets throughout USA.

Not all kosher certified food products are halal, only those who meet Halal requir­ements are HALAL

MCG Halal criteria:

The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard). The Halal food product or ingredient should not be made of the following ingred­ients:

1) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers,
2) Wine,
3) Liquor,
4) Beer batter,
5) Rum flavor,
6) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol or Alcohol as a main ingred­ient,
7) Cochineal or Carmine, (8) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (conta­ining Wheat & Soy as ingred­ients),
9) Brewer’s Yeast or Brewer Yeast Extract obtained from byproduct of beer making,
10) Nucleo­tides ( Torula yeast is the source of Nucleo­tides but it is grown on Alcohol)),
11) Pectin ( A Mashbooh ingred­ient, Alcohol may be used during processing for crysti­zation so it needs invest­iga­tion),
12) Vanilla Extract (conta­ining 35% alcohol minimum),
13) Wine Vinegar,
14) Balsamic Vinegar,
15) Natural or Artificial Flavor (If ethyl alcohol is used as a hidden or processing aid ingredient or as a solvent then it is not Halal),
16) Confec­tionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (Alcohol is used in both),
17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol,
18) Carrag­eenan ( A Mashbooh ingred­ient, if ethyl alcohol or Ethanol or Alcohol is used during its processing then it is not Halal),
19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor­(be­cause Alcohol is used in its extrac­tion),
(20) Any grape wine by-product such grape skin powder, grape seed oil, grape seed extract,
21) Gelatin
22) Kosher Gelatin,
23) Torula Yeast grown on Alcohol.
 

Halal status is given on the following basis

1. The food product is made from only pure Halal ingred­ients with Halal processing aid or hidden ingred­ients and no natural or artificial flavors (except those in which alcohol was not used as solvent)).
2. The Halal food product is NOT Made with pork, pork-b­y-p­rod­ucts, bacon, ham, lard, pig enzymes, any other meat-b­y-p­rod­ucts, any other ingred­ients such as:
Gelatin from pork and non zabiha cow
Kosher Gelatin except fish gelatin
L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers
Wine
Liquor
Beer batter
Rum flavor
Ethyl Alcohol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list
Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects
Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce ( A alcoholic fermented product containing 1-2% alcohol)
Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast made from brewer? yeast, a byproduct of beer making
Torula Yeast grown on alcohol
Nucleo­tides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant Milk formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea
Vanilla Extract which must contain minimum of 35% Alcohol by US FDA regulation
Wine Vinegar because there will leftover wine which is not converted to vinegar
If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural or artificial flavors.
3. Confec­tionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made with Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated
4. Carrag­eenan, if ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol was used during processing for crysta­lli­zation
5. Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor­(be­cause Alcohol is used in its extrac­tion).
6. Genuine or orthodox Halal or Kosher certif­ication was also used for assigning the Halal status for a food product, which meets the MCG Halal requir­ements. Because no Halal certified food products are available throughout USA except few such MCG Halal certified Seneca Foods Apple Chips and few from other organi­zat­ions. Not all Kosher certified food products are Halal. The only one is Halal, which meets the MCG Halal requir­ements. It is based on Quran and ahadiths which allows good & pure Tayab foods of Ahlekitab and they are good for Muslims.
7. Only hand slaughter Zabiha meat from Halal animals by a Muslim is used as a criteria for MCG definition of Zabiha meat. Machine slaugh­tering for zabiha meat is not acceptable according to our ulema.