Show Menu

NLP: The Logical Levels of Change Cheat Sheet (DRAFT) by [deleted]

This is a draft cheat sheet. It is a work in progress and is not finished yet.


The logical levels model, also known as Dilts logical levels, was developed by Robert Dilts and Todd Epstein, who were, in turn, inspired by the work of Gregory Bateson and Bertrand Russell.

The logical levels model is a very helpful tool for personal change in that it gives a framework for identi­fying why things happen the way they do. The model assumes that the processes of learning, problem solving, sensory proces­sing, change, and commun­ication occur at six different hierar­chical levels.

Unders­tanding the levels

The logical levels model is built up of the following six stages: enviro­nment, behavior, capabi­lity, beliefs and values, identity, spirit­uality or connec­ted­ness. The hierarchy of the six levels can be repres­ented as a pyramid in which all levels are related to each other.

The respective position of a given logical level becomes important for the realiz­ation of sustai­nable changes. Making a change at a lower level may, but not necess­arily, affect an upper level. However, a change at an upper level will have a distinct impact on the levels below it. In other words: Whatever is on top runs everything underneath

1. Enviro­nment: Where do I need to change?

This level refers to the physical and emotional enviro­nment around us such as the community, our living arrang­ements, the people around us, the tools and resources available to us, the culture of which we are part. To access this level, ask yourself: How does my enviro­nment affect my goal? What are my external opport­unities or constr­aints? What kind of people do I like to have around me? Where do I gain support from? Where are my resources? How does my working enviro­nment make me feel?

2. Behavior: What do I need to change?

The second level refers to the action and behavior of a person. How does a person act or react in a given situation? What are the physical signs in terms of body language and voice? What are the habits? What is the current lifestyle? Are they any patterns?

3. Capabi­lity: How do I make these changes?

This level is about the abilities, skills, talents, knowledge, and compet­encies that we have and which lead to a series of action and behaviors. What are the skills and abilities that we currently possess that will help us get the changes we want? Which skills we need, but have not yet learned in order to make the needed changes

4. Beliefs and values: Why make these changes?

Beliefs and values drive behaviors. They provide the primary motivating force behind our actions and capabi­lities and have, therefore, a massive impact on our outcomes. They define who we are and direct our lives. Yet often we are not even aware of them. Useful questions to access this logical level are: What is important to me? What do I believe and value? Why do I believe and value that? What do I believe to be right and wrong? What beliefs might help me you get better results?

NLP – The logical levels of change

5. Identity: Who am I & do I reflect that way?

Identity is our sense of self, our core beliefs and values. This level can be summed up by the questions: Who am I? How do I think about myself? What I stand for? What is my vision of life? How is what I am experi­encing an expression of who I am? How would others describe me?

6. Spirit­uality: Whom do I serve & for what?

6. Spirit­uality or connec­ted­ness: Whom do I serve and for what purpose?
The highest logical level deals with the big picture of life, when we begin to question our own purpose, ethics, mission, or meaning in life. Asking the following questions helps us to get a glimpse of your purpose in life: What is my meaning in life? For what reason am I here? How would I like to be remembered when I am gone? What greater good do I believe in?

Identi­fying the different levels

Identi­fying the different levels

The following sentence highlights five of the key levels. Where the person emphasizes a word will often bring out, which logical level need to address to take action.
“I can’t do that here” – Emphasis on the identity level: Who could do the job? What could I do?
“I can’t do that here” – Emphasis on the beliefs and values level: What keeps me away from doing the task? Who told me that I am not made for to do that?
“I can’t do that here” – Emphasis on the capability level: Do I need additional skills, techniques or methods to proceed?
“I can’t do that here” – Emphasis on the behavior level: What kind of actions can I do? Does the task have a positive intention? Is it in accordance with my personal develo­pment?
“I can’t do that here” – Emphasis on the enviro­nment level: Where, when, with whom could I take action? What is my ideal working enviro­nment? What time of the day will be best?