Show Menu

Janist: Ten Universal Virtues Cheat Sheet (DRAFT) by [deleted]

Ten Universal Virtues - Jainist

This is a draft cheat sheet. It is a work in progress and is not finished yet.


In this modern scientific age of advanced electronic printing so many books are printed daily that even a sincere reader of literary taste cannot read all of them in his whole lifetime. This short treatise on Jain philosophy written purely in a missionary spirit throws ample light on the ten universal supreme virtues of Jainism. An honest and vigorous attempt to follow these supreme virtues in daily practical life of give and take even by a religious layman will usher in an era of peace and harmony both in individual life and social life. Conseq­uently will relieve this war-torn world from its maddening strife for physical achiev­ements and sensual pleasures at the cost of health, happiness, peace and morality

Universal Virtues

1. Uttama Kshama - Supreme Forgiv­eness To observe tolerance whole-­hea­rtedly, shunning anger.
2. Mardava - Tenderness or Humility To observe the virtue of humility subduing vanity and passions.
3. Arjaya - Straig­ht-­for­war­dness or Honesty To practice a deceit­-free conduct in life by vanqui­shing the passion of deception.
4. Shaucha - Conten­tment or Purity To keep the body, mind and speech pure by discarding greed.
5. Satya - Truthf­ulness To speak affect­ionate and just words with a holy intention causing no injury to any living being.
6. Sanyam - Self-r­est­raint To defend all living beings with utmost power in a cosmop­olitan spirit abstaining from all the pleasures provided by the five senses - touch, taste, smell, sight, and hearing; and the sixth - mind.
7. Tapa - Penance or Auster­iti­es(To practice auster­ities putting a check on all worldly allure­ments.
8. Tyaga - Renunc­iat­ion To give four fold charities - Ahara (food), Abhaya (fearl­ess­ness), Aushadha (medic­ine), and Shastra Dana (distr­ibution of Holy Script­ures), and to patronize social and religious instit­utions for self and other uplifts.**
9. Akinchanya - Non-at­tac­hment To enhance faith in the real self as against non-self i.e., material objects; and to discard internal Parigraha viz. anger and pride; and external Parigraha viz. accumu­lation of gold, diamonds, and royal treasures.
10. Brahma­carya - Chastity or celibacy (To observe the great vow of celibacy; to have devotion for the inner soul and the omniscient Lord; to discard the carnal desires, vulgar fashions, child and old-age marriages, dowry dominated marriages, polygamy, criminal assault on ladies, use of foul and vulgar language.

Ten Ways and Means

1. Ahimsa - Non-vi­olence
2. Kshma - Forgiv­eness
3. Satya - Truthf­ulness
4. Shuchitva - Purity
5. Shradha - Faith
6. Indriya Sanyam - Restraint on senses
7. Dana - Charity
8. Puja - Devotion or worship
9. Tapa - Penance
10. Dhayana - Meditation

Well-being is of Ten Kinds

1. Sanyam - Self-r­est­raint
2. Satya - Truthf­ulness
3. Pavitrata - Purity
4. Brahma­carya - Chastity
5. Akinchanya - Non-at­tac­hment
6. Tapa - Penance
7. Shanty - Peace
8. Vineys­heelta - Humility
9. Nishkapat Vyavhar - Decept­ion­-free conduct
10. Mukti - Liberation

Ten-Fold Current

1. Shanti - Peace
2. Narmarta - Humility
3. Arjava - Non-de­cei­tfu­lness
4. Shaucha - Purity (in thought, speech and action)
5. Sanyam - Self-r­est­raint
6. Tyaga - Renunc­iation
7. Satya - Truthf­ulness
8. Tapa - Penance
9. Brahma­carya - Chastity
10. Akinchanya - Non-at­tac­hment

Help Us Go Positive!

We offset our carbon usage with Ecologi. Click the link below to help us!

We offset our carbon footprint via Ecologi